Vanilla Chocolate Chip Cake (Vegan)

Instead of going the candy route for our Halloween celebration we made cake. It’s delicious and all of my children want it for their birthdays. I would recommend baking this a day ahead of time as it tastes much better if it sits for a day. It’s harder to tell it’s vegan. πŸ™‚ I ended up just icing the top and middle because my attempt at making powdered sugar from scratch and using it in frosting turned into a grainy mixture that refused to stick to the sides of the cake. I’ll be working on finding a suitable corn free powdered sugar recipe that I hope to share soon πŸ™‚ Oh, one more thing! I used palm oil shortening to grease my pans for flouring, but my cake still stuck to the sides. I’m having trouble finding a dairy free, soy free, corn free version of shortening or oil that works well. If you have any ideas, please share! Thanks! Okay, now for the recipe.

Vanilla Chocolate Chip Cake

Ingredients:

3 cups flour

2 cups sugar

1 10 oz package enjoy life chocolate chips

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp vinegar (I used rice vinegar to make it corn free, worked great)

10 tbsp oil, or 1/2 cup + 1/8 cup (4 tbsp = 1/4 cup)

1 tbsp vanilla

2 cups water

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 F.Combine dry ingredients except for the chocolate chips thoroughly in large bowl. Mix wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until smooth. DO NOT BEAT!!! Pour evenly into 2 floured cake pans. (I used 8 inch rounds) Sprinkle with chocolate chips, half a bag for each pan. Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.Β  Most cake recipes call for letting it cool for 10 minutes before removing from the pan onto a wire rack to finish cooling. Make sure it’s completely cool before you ice it! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

